The Joint Center for Aerospace Technology Innovation (JCATI) is a partnership between industry and universities that facilitates development of new technologies to keep Washington at the forefront of aerospace innovation.  In order to meet aerospace industry needs, the facilities and resources of JCATI are available to all Washington State four-year institutions of higher education.  JCATI is enacted by the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 28B.155.010. 

Board of Directors

The JCATI Board of Directors consists of nine members appointed by the governor, including a nonvoting chair.  Of the eight voting members, one member represent small aerospace firms, one member represent medium-sized firms, one member represent large aerospace firms, one member represent labor, two members represent aerospace industry associations, and two members represent higher education. Board member terms are staggered.  The Board has met regularly since December 2012.

Annual Symposium

Since 2012, JCATI has provided over $6.5 million dollars in funding to 80 projects in areas such as composites, biofuels, space, commercial flight and manufacturing. This JCATI supported research is highlighted at its annual research symposium held every spring. Washington State University hosted the 2016 symposium "Advancing Solutions to Aerospace Challenges" at the Spokane Convention Center, with over 100 individuals representing both academia and industry in attendance. The meeting featured a keynote presentation by Iris Bombelyn, VP Protected Communications at Lockheed Martin Space Systems. Other invited speakers included Nick Agostinelli (Triumph Composite Systems), Tom Hagen (AUVSI), Steve Fulton (Sandel Avionics) and Robert Hodgman (WSDOT). In addition to a JCATI-supported research poster show, there was a student 'elevator pitch' contest where students were given 1 minute to explain their JCATI project to the audience.

The 2017 Symposium will be hosted by the University of Washington on April 4, 2017 in Seattle, WA.